Culture Shock in New York

Although I am from the United States there was still a major difference in culture from my small town of York, Nebraska, population 7,800, to the big city of New York City, New York.

  1. Harassment’s – I know this can happen in any town, but it may be more prevalent and awkward in New York.  Just like that recent youtube video of the girl getting harassed by guys, it can and probably will happen in New York City and it doesn’t matter what you’re wearing.  I must have become immune to it, but my Dad said I got harassed a few times while in New York.  So ladies you’ve been warned. 
  2. Taxi – We only have one taxi in my small town of York, Nebraska.  It doesn’t run all of the time and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t even have the stereotypical lights on top.  Just a note: The lights must be on in order for you to hail a cab.

    IMG_0564
    My sister and I went to a broadway show, but I posted this picture because you can see Taxi’s. Haha.
  3. Metro – Use the New York City way to travel – the metro.  They may be grimy, but they are one of the cheapest and most efficient ways to travel.  Live like a local and take the metro.  It’s not as bad as you might think, just make sure you conscious about where you’ve placed your valuables and keep an eye, or hand, on them at all times.
  4. Tip – When in doubt you should probably tip in New York.  If you’re struggling to figure out what to tip for a purchase use a reference book like Lonely Planets as a tipping guide.
  5. There are so many people.  People are not rude here like some people think, but New Yorkers probably won’t go out of their way to help you either.  They simply just don’t have the time, as life moves more quickly here.

    IMG_0531
    I bet Jimmy Fallon has walked on this sidewalk.
  6. It’s a great place to see celebrities.  Especially, if you go to a later evening match at the US Open like we did.
    IMG_0666
    Heidi Klum watching the US Open 2014.
    IMG_0657
    Victoria Azarenka at the US Open 2014.

    IMG_0639
    US Open
  7. In NYC you might lose your good sense of direction.  All the tall buildings made my Dad, who is normally good at directions, incredibly lost.  This is because he couldn’t see the sun so he never knew what direction we were heading.  My sister and I were the navigators of a family vacation for the first time ever.IMG_0563

    IMG_0623
    My Dad is lost.
3 thoughts on “Culture Shock in New York

Leave a Reply

