Carmela’s Bistro in Lincoln, NE Review

Crazily enough I started this blog in hopes of writing about my travels (along with some other stuff), but I spaced the fact that I could write important travel details about where I live.  Carmela’s Bistro is located in Lincoln, NE, which is about an hour (or 50 miles) from where I live.  Useful tidbit: Nebraskan’s measure traveling in time not miles.  I believe this is because we don’t have near the traffic as other places.  So no matter the miles, unless you don’t have a car which is a necessity in Nebraska, you’ll always get there in close to the same amount of time.

Anyways, back to Carmela’s.  This is the second time we’ve (me and my family) been there and have enjoyed it immensely both times.  The first time was for our work 2014 Christmas party and the second time was for my parents 30th anniversary.  I’m so incredibly lucky to have parents that still love each other after 30 years.  Best role models ever!

Carmela’s Bistro is a pricier restaurant so keep that in mind when you go.  There are specials like $10 wine tastings the first Thursday of every month and a $40 three course dinner on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday evenings.  They also change their menu’s to fit the present seasons produce so every visit may be a different experience to keep you entertained all year round.  I love the layout of the restaurant with the decor of a fancy cafe and it’s much bigger than you would think it was.  Plus you don’t have to dress to the nines, just some nice jeans, a blouse and you’re good to go.  Unless you like dressing up then go banana’s.

Now onto the food.  We ordered the Napoleon appetizer (descriptions are with the picture), which as you can see was impressive in it’s layered presentation and tasted like a vegetable loaded salsa.  My parents each got a white wine taster, which is just three glasses of different white wines to try.

This is the Napoleon appetizer at Carmella's Bistro.  Crab, avocado, pico de gallo, creme fraiche, and corn chips.
This is the Napoleon appetizer at Carmella’s Bistro. Crab, avocado, pico de gallo, creme fraiche, and corn chips.

Everyone got a different main course.  I got scallops which were tender and moist, but my favorite part of my meal was the creamy and flavorful leek and forest mushroom risotto.  Although I don’t normally have risotto I feel I should make it a regular comfort food staple in my diet, it’s that good.

Scallops with leek and forest mushroom risotto, asparagus, and topped with a to die for chardonnay beurre blanc sauce.
Scallops with leek and forest mushroom risotto, asparagus, and topped with a to die for chardonnay beurre blanc sauce.

My sister got the Sunchoke Linguine.

Sunchoke linguini with jerusalem artichokes, sun dried tomatoes, spinach, and a parmesan cream sauce.
Sunchoke linguini with jerusalem artichokes, sun dried tomatoes, spinach, and a parmesan cream sauce.

My Mom got the Sea Bass, which is pictured below and those whipped potatoes with the sea bass really hit the spot…my kind mother let me try.  🙂  Lastly, my Dad got the special which was prime rib for the evening.  I unfortunately did not get a picture of this and my guess as to why is because I’m a pescatarian and did not get the chance to try it.

Seared Sea Bass with creamy shrimp scampi sauces, marinated tomatoes, whipped potatoes, and asparagus.
Seared Sea Bass with creamy shrimp scampi sauces, marinated tomatoes, whipped potatoes, and asparagus.

For dessert we split two desserts.  I want to say one of them was the Hot Penny Rum (not 100% on this) which is a mixed hot drink of coffee, crème de cocoa, pyrat rum, and whipped Cream and the other was Bread Pudding.  Both mouth watering in their own ways.

Hot Penny Rum
Hot Penny Rum
Bread Pudding
Bread Pudding

All in all I would give this place a 9 out of 10 stars, only deducting 1 star for the price.  If we could get the same thing for the 2 for $40 (and maybe we can) it would be 10 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

